Home RUGBY XV The greatest rugby XV of all-time 

The greatest rugby XV of all-time 

by Saba Gulmagarashvili

Here is The greatest rugby XV of all-time picked by statisticians….  and there’s no room for Carter, O’Connell and Parisse.

Serge Blanco (France) 

The flashy fullback’s international career with France saw him achieve different feats of skill while winning Five Nation Grand Slams in 1981 and 1987, as well as four more trophies.

Serge Blanco | Brothers in Arms

Jonah Lomu (New Zealand)

The New Zealander, together with Bryan Habana, is the equal all-time leading try scorer at the Rugby World Cup, having crossed the line 15 times between the 1995 and 1999 editions. The simplest choice in a best-of-all-time XV.

Jonah Lomu: a one-off who broke barriers as well as tackles in rugby | Jonah Lomu | The Guardian

Brian O’Driscoll (Ireland) 

Brian O’Driscoll, former Ireland and British and Irish Lions captain, was one of the most consistent players in the world for more than a decade.

Tim Horan (Australia) 

Only a few players have won the Rugby World Cup twice, and one of them is Australia’s powerful runner Tim Horan, who won in 1991 and 1999.

The other teams trained. We drank Guinness' | The Sunday Times

David Campese (Australia) 

Capped by Australia on more than 100 occasions and scorer of 64 international tries, David Campese was once the world’s top scorer but now has to settle for the honour of second place.


Jonny Wilkinson (England) 

He will forever be remembered as the man who won England the Rugby World Cup by edging out the hosts in Australia in 2003 with a last-gasp drop-goal.

Jonny Wilkinson:'It took a few years for the pressure to really build. And then it exploded' | Jonny Wilkinson | The Guardian

Gareth Edwards (Wales)

The former Wales and British and Irish Lions scrum-half is without a doubt the finest scrum-half in history. Many people see Edwards as one of the best rugby players of all time.

Gareth Edwards - IMDb

Jason Leonard (England)

Leonard made his England debut at the age of 21 in 1990, the first of a record 119 caps for both England and the British & Irish Lions.

On this day: Jason Leonard calls time on Test career | PlanetRugby

Keith Wood (Ireland) 

The force of nature Wood was a dominant figure in the Irish front row.


Phil Vickery (England)

Phil Vickery was considered as England’s top tighthead prop for more than a decade, a reputation that reached its pinnacle when he was named captain of the national team by Brian Ashton in January 2007.

THE BIG INTERVIEW: England's 2003 Rugby World Cup winner Phil Vickery reflects on the glory | Star Sports News Australia

Martin Johnson (England)

Johnson, a legendary England lock, is widely regarded as one of the best players in the game’s history.

Rugby's Greatest: Martin Johnson - World Cup Winning Captain

John Eales (Australia) 

Perfect is a hard word to describe someone as but John Eales was not far off.


Francois Pienaar (South Africa)

Springbok Captain Pienaar is famous for leading South Africa to triumph in the World Cup in 1995.


Richie McCaw (New Zealand) 

McCaw worked hard to improve his game, adding handling abilities and dynamic running to develop himself into a full openside.

That scares me': All Blacks great Richie McCaw breaks silence on Silver Lake saga

Zinzan Brooke (New Zealand)

He was a capable forward with exceptional handling skills and a reliable boot, making him a one-of-a-kind talent.

My Rugby World Cup hero: Zinzan Brooke | PlanetRugby

You may also like

Leave a Comment

About Us


Started in 2015 as a simple means of archiving favourite rugby videos online, GG Rugby is now recognised by most rugby fans and players around the world.


Subscribe my Newsletter for new blog posts, tips & new photos. Let's stay updated!

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More

Privacy & Cookies Policy